• Performing Arts

An evening of performances at Le Générateur

Biennale Nova_XX

  • Concert & Performance

Friday 10 December 2021 at 19h

  • Le Générateur
    16 rue Charles Frérot
    94250 Gentilly
Friday 10 December at 8 pm

Julie Vachet’s performance, Banquet des activités humaines exigeant un effort soutenu, will be presented at 5:30 pm, 6:30 pm and 8:15 pm.
Tickets: 12 € / reduced price : 8€
Buy a ticket

Two days after its exhibition opening at Centre Wallonie-Bruxelles, Biennale Nova_XX will be presenting the performance artists selected at Le Générateur, a hub for “trans, hybrid and connected” forms, in the words of biennial director Stéphanie Pécourt. The jury has selected a colourful group of artists who all share a humorous streak and a very heterogeneous approach.


On the agenda

Five women: a manager, a therapist, a translator, a cryptologist and a television broadcaster. These five characters serves as the input for an “artificial intelligence” system. Representatives of our contemporary society (business, healthcare, technology and media) selected for their professional vocabulary, the invitees’ discussions provide material for their immaterial employer. The beginnings of a new emancipatory, poetic language, composed of neologisms and new rhythms, gradually take shape and interfere with the process…

This performance looks back at the freedoms gained over the centuries, retracing the history of women’s silhouettes with humour and irony, and presents a mechanical version of the sack-back gowns worn at court. Stretching from the French Revolution to the digital revolution, the performance employs voice as a tool of artistic and political expression. Like a Marie-Antoinette of the Internet, the artist reveals intimate thoughts, her sense of urgency, and her futuristic aspirations. Her technological gown changes form along with her mood swings.

This performance questions the hybridisation of a body both present and absent that mutates in form. Details of the surrounding environment pass through the epidermis and plunge the audience into changes in scale and perception, making one wonder whether the sculpture’s slow, continuous movement is propelled by a mechanism, a program, or a human body. 

Why is EVERYTHING evaluated, ALL the time, by EVERYONE? Your opinion is everywhere, all the time, and we’re interested in it! This performance tackles that question from an autobiographical angle. The visual elements of online evaluations take physical form on the stage.

Using one of the most cutting-edge technologies available, the video projector, Morgane Baffier teaches us insightful lessons about art, love, living in a harmonious world, and how to “move forward”.


Image: Vocalize Me © Geneviève Favre Petroff. Photo Antoine Petroff

Biennale NOVA_XX 
French partners:
Némo – International Biennial of Digital Arts of the Île-de-France Region, with CENTQUATRE-PARIS.
Le Générateur (Gentilly)
Lafayette Anticipations (Paris)
Biennale Chroniques (Marseille)
Belgian partners:
LIME – Law firm (Brussels)
BOZAR LAB (Brussels)
Fondation Gluon (Brussels)
KIKK Festival (Namur)
iMal (Brussels)

• Arts Vivants

Soirée de performances au Générateur

Biennale Nova_XX

  • Concert & Performance

Vendredi 10 décembre 2021 à 19h

  • Le Générateur
    16 rue Charles Frérot
    94250 Gentilly
Tarif plein : 12€
Tarif réduit : 8€
Acheter un billet

Deux jours après le vernissage de son exposition au Centre Wallonie-Bruxelles à Paris, la Biennale Nova_XX présente ses lauréats “performances” au Générateur à Gentilly, haut lieu des formes “trans, hybrides et connectées”, comme le dit sa directrice Stéphanie Pécourt. Le jury a sélectionné des lauréates hautes en couleur, avec deux points communs : l’humour et des formes très hétéroclites.


Au programme

Julie Vacher – Le Banquet des activités humaines exigeant un effort soutenu

Une manager, une thérapeute, une traductrice, une cryptologue et une speakerine. Dans un laboratoire, cinq employées nourrissent une intelligence artificielle. Représentatives de notre société contemporaine (économie, santé, numérique, médias) et sélectionnées pour le langage imposé par leurs professions, les convives alimentent par leurs monologues leur employeur immatériel. Pourtant, les contours d’une langue émancipatrice et poétique, faite de néologismes, de rythmes et de chorus, se dessinent progressivement et va détourner le processus.

Installation dite “de théâtre sonore” de Julie Vacher :
Vendredi 10 décembre 2021 à 17h30, 18h30 et 19h15
Samedi 11 et Dimanche 12 décembre 2021 de 15h à 19h, entrée libre

Geneviève Favre Petroff – Vocalisez-moi

Cette performance parle des libertés acquises durant les siècles. Elle retrace avec humour et ironie l’histoire de la silhouette féminine et propose une version mécanique de la robe à paniers portée à la Cour. Entre Révolution Française et révolution numérique, la voix est thématisée comme outil d’expression artistique et politique. Telle une Marie-Antoinette de l’Internet, l’artiste leur dévoile une part de son intimité, de son état d’urgence et de ses aspirations futuristes. Sa robe technologique change de forme au fur et à mesure de ses sautes d’humeur…

Jenny Abouav – Enveloppe ‑ sculpture vivante

Cette performance questionne l’hybridation d’un corps présent et invisible qui se métamorphose. Son épiderme est traversé par les détails de l’environnement et plonge le spectateur dans des changements d’échelles et de perceptions, en le faisant douter si le mouvement lent et continu de cette sculpture est produit par un mécanisme, un programme, ou un corps humain.

Magali Desbazeille – Your Opinion Matters #2

La question est : pourquoi TOUT est évalué, TOUT le temps, par TOUT le monde ? Votre avis est partout, tout le temps, et il nous intéresse ! La performance s’intéresse à ce fait en lui apportant une dimension autobiographique incarnée par l’autrice. Les éléments virtuels des évaluations seront matérialisés au plateau.

Morgane Baffier – Conférences

Morgane Baffier, utilisant une des technologies les plus pointues, le rétroprojecteur, nous délivre de véritables leçons sur l’art, l’amour, la manière de vivre dans un monde harmonieux et sur « comment avancer »…


Visuel : Vocalize Me © Geneviève Favre Petroff. Photo Antoine Petroff

Biennale Nova_XX 
Partenaires français : Némo – Biennale internationale des arts numériques de la Région Île-de-France (une production du CENTQUATRE-PARIS), Le Générateur (Gentilly), Lafayette Anticipations (Paris), Biennale Chroniques (Marseille)
Partenaires belges : LIME – Cabinet d’avocats (Bruxelles), BOZAR LAB (Bruxelles), Fondation Gluon (Bruxelles), KIKK Festival (Namur), iMal (Bruxelles)