Today's event

  • Arts and Sciences

Antoine Bertin

Hearing Gravity

  • Sound installation

From Wednesday 10 to Sunday 14 November 2021

  • CENTQUATRE-PARIS
    5 rue Curial
    75019 Paris
Wednesday 10 & Thursday 11 from 1:30 pm to 7:30 pm
Friday 12 November from 2:30 pm to 7:30 pm
Saturday 13 from 2:30 pm to 7:00 pm
Sunday 14 November from 2:30 pm to 7:30 pm
Length: 10 mins

Tickets 2 € / 3 € / 5 €
Buy a ticket

Hearing Gravity, an artistic exploration of black holes and how gravity warps time, may be the most singular experience of Biennale Némo 2021. The work is a ten-minute show for one person at a time, at the intersection of radio drama, immersive theatre, and installation.

What would we feel while falling into a black hole? Antoine Bertin’s Hearing Gravity installation makes the experience possible. So what happens? We emerge physically unscathed, but with serious doubts about our mental health.

” L’ADN

Hearing Gravity employs binaural recording for a total sensory immersion that creates a powerful auditory illusion, developed by the artist using recording techniques that reproduce natural listening in three dimensions with headphones.

The installation is incredibly immersive—a sort of 3D experience for the ears. Developed closely in line with scientific knowledge, the work fosters sensory, emotional and mystical connections with a reality of astronomical proportions that seems out of our reach.

Antoine Bertin creates immersive experiences (installations, walks and audio pieces) that combine binaural sound, interactive storytelling and tangible materials. His work both as an artist and as founder of the studio Sound Anything has been presented at Tate Britain, Palais de Tokyo, and the Sonar+D festival. He has collaborated with Marshmallow Laser Feast, The Guardian VR, NTS Radio, and more.


Hearing Gravity is an experience created by Antoine Bertin, in collaboration with Caroline Le Méhauté, Anagram, Alexis Sequera, André Füzfa, Isobel Dunhill, Juliette Aver and Emi Kodama.

Image: Hearing Gravity © Hélène Combal-Weiss

Co-production : Kikk festival
With support from Trakk, de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles et du Centre Culturel de Namur

• Arts et Sciences

Antoine Bertin

Hearing Gravity

  • Spectacle

Du mercredi 10 au dimanche 14 novembre 2021

  • CENTQUATRE-PARIS
    5 rue Curial
    75019 Paris
Mercredi 10 et jeudi 11 novembre de 13h30 à 19h30
Vendredi 12 novembre de 14h30 à 19h30
Samedi 13 novembre de 14h30 à 19h00
Dimanche 14 novembre de 15h30 à 19h30
Une séance toutes les 15 min
Durée : 20 min

Tarifs 2 € / 3 € / 5 €
Acheter un billet

Hearing Gravity est peut-être l’expérience la plus singulière de la Biennale Némo 2021. Exploration artistique des trous noirs et de la déformation du temps par la gravité, à l’intersection de la dramatique radiophonique, du théâtre immersif et de l’installation, Hearing Gravity est un spectacle pour une personne à la fois, d’une durée de dix minutes.


Que ressentirait-on en tombant dans un trou noir ? Avec l’installation Hearing Gravity d’Antoine Bertin, il est possible d’en faire l’expérience. Résultat ? On en ressort physiquement indemne, mais avec de sérieux doutes quant à sa santé mentale. 

» L’ADN

Utilisant l’enregistrement binaural pour une immersion sensorielle totale, Hearing Gravity s’articule autour d’une illusion auditive puissante, élaborée par l’artiste à partir des techniques d’enregistrement qui restituent l’écoute naturelle et en trois dimensions à l’aide d’un simple casque audio.

Il provoque un sentiment d’immersion très fort, une sorte de 3D pour les oreilles. Construite au plus près possible de la science, l’œuvre propose de créer des liens sensoriels, émotionnels et mystiques avec une réalité qui, par ses proportions astronomiques, nous apparaît hors d’atteinte.

Antoine Bertin crée des expériences immersives (installations, marches, pièces audio) qui assemblent son binaural, storytelling interactif et matières tangibles. Son travail, en tant qu’artiste et fondateur du studio Sound Anything, a été présenté à la Tate Britain, au Palais de Tokyo, ou encore au festival Sonar+D. Il collabore avec Marshmallow Laser Feast, The Guardian VR, NTS radio, etc.


Hearing Gravity est une expérience d’Antoine Bertin, réalisée en collaboration avec Caroline Le Méhauté, Anagram, Alexis Sequera, André Füzfa, Isobel Dunhill, Juliette Aver et Emi Kodama.

Visuel : Antoine Bertin, Hearing Gravity © Hélène Combal-Weiss

Co-production : Kikk festival
Avec le soutien de Trakk, de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles et du Centre Culturel de Namur