• Performing Arts

Clément Debailleul / Cie 14:20

Æon

  • Show

From Tuesday 14 to Wednesday 22 December 2021

  • CENTQUATRE-PARIS
    5 rue Curial
    75019 Paris
Tuesday 14, Wednesday 15, Saturday 18, Tuesday 21 and Wednesday 22 December at 7:30 pm
Thursday 16 and Friday 17 December at 8:30 pm
Sunday 17 December at 4:00 pm

Length: 1 hour 20 minutes
The performance is not suitable for people with epilepsy.
Buy a ticket

Allow us to remind you, one last time, of the wise words of Arthur C. Clarke, which are oh-so Biennale Némo: “Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.” Æon explores general relativity, curved spacetime, parallel universes, and sensory disturbances. You are in for an extraordinary experience that extends far beyond reality.


An art / science / research – Magie Nouvelle [new magic] project on the concept of time. Since its inception, Cie 14:20 has always experimented with the question of time. Time suspended in contemplation, stolen from the bustling world. For a moment could we grasp it, slow it down, freeze its progression, and bring about that which is missing or could be in the future? These magical experiments and questions led us to investigate the scientific understanding of the phenomenon. Cie 14:20 invited physicists, neuroscientists and biologists to delve into the intrinsically transdisciplinary topic of time. This performance is also inspired by a real-life figure, renowned speleologist Michel Siffre, the father of chronobiology, who has partaken in voluntary isolation experiences underground since the 1960s, in search of human time and physiological rhythms.

Clément Debailleul

Director and videographer Clément Debailleul founded Cie 14:20 with Raphaël Navarro in 2000, and created the Magie Nouvelle artistic movement together with Valentine Losseau. His career is dotted with a wide range of collaborations and multidisciplinary connections, with figures such as the writer Michel Butor, fashion designer Jean-Paul Gaultier, choreographer Philippe Decouflé, orchestra conductors Raphaël Pichon and Laurence Equilbey, and theatre director Galin Stoev.

He also teaches Magie Nouvelle dramaturgy and techniques at École Nationale Supérieure des Arts et Techniques du Théâtre (ENSATT). He has presented works at CENTQUATRE-PARIS on many occasions: Notte (2010), Vibrations (2011), Wade in the Water (2016) and the magic installations Stormy Weather (2013).


Image: Cie 14:20, Æon © Clement Debailleul

Cie 14:20
Compagnie 14:20 is a CENTQUATRE-PARIS associate company
Concept and story: AragoRn Boulanger, Clément Debailleul, Elsa Revol
Directed by Clément Debailleul
Choreography: AragoRn Boulanger
Lighting design: Elsa Revol
Set design: Benjamin Gabrié
Script: Christophe Galfard, Michel Siffre, Virginie Van Wassenhove
Voiceover: Marco Bataille-Testu
Scientific partners: Christophe Galfard, Alice Guyon, Virginie Van Wassenhove
With AragoRn Boulanger and Armelle Bérengier
Production manager: Mickaël Marchadier
Stage manager: Marco Bataille-Testu
Administration, production and touring: La Magnanerie

• Arts Vivants

Clément Debailleul / Cie 14:20

Æon

  • Spectacle

Du mardi 14 au mercredi 22 décembre 2021

  • CENTQUATRE-PARIS
    5 rue Curial
    75019 Paris
Mardi 14, mercredi 15, samedi 18, mardi 21 et mercredi 22 décembre à 19h30
Jeudi 16 et vendredi 17 décembre à 20h30
Dimanche 19 décembre à 16h


Durée : 1h20
Ne convient pas aux personnes sujettes à l'épilepsie.
Acheter un billet

Pour rappeler une ultime fois l’antienne so Biennale Némo de Arthur C. Clarke : « Toute technologie suffisamment avancée est indiscernable de la magie ». Dans Æon, il est question de relativité générale, de courbure du temps, d’univers parallèles, de troubles sensoriels. Vous passerez un moment rare et résolument au-delà du réel…


Le temps comme sujet, un projet Art/Science/Recherche – Magie Nouvelle. Depuis ses débuts, la Cie 14:20 a toujours expérimenté avec la question du temps. Temps suspendu de la contemplation, volé à l’agitation du monde. Pourrions-nous, un instant l’appréhender, le ralentir, figer son déroulement, et faire advenir ce qui manque à être ou qui pourrait être dans le futur ? De ces expérimentations magiques et de ces interrogations est venue l’envie de nous confronter à l’appréhension scientifique du phénomène. La Cie 14:20 a invité physiciens, neuroscientifiques et biologistes à travailler autour de cette thématique du temps, intrinsèquement transdisciplinaire. Ce spectacle s’appuie également sur le personnage réel qu’est Michel Siffre, spéléologue de renom et père de la chronobiologie, qui s’adonna dès les années soixante à des expériences d’isolement volontaire en milieu souterrain, à la recherche du temps humain, du rythme physiologique.

Clément Debailleul

Metteur en scène et vidéaste, Clément Debailleul fonde la Cie 14:20 avec Raphaël Navarro en 2000 et initie avec Valentine Losseau le mouvement artistique de la Magie nouvelle. Son parcours est jalonné de collaborations diverses et de croisements pluridisciplinaires avec l’écrivain Michel Butor, le couturier Jean-Paul Gaultier, le chorégraphe Philippe Decouflé, les chefs d’orchestre Raphaël Pichon et Laurence Equilbey, le metteur en scène Galin Stoev.

Il participe aussi aux formations spécifiques de la Magie nouvelle (dramaturgie et techniques) à l’École Nationale Supérieure des Arts et Techniques du Théâtre (ENSATT). Il présente régulièrement son travail au CENTQUATRE-PARIS avec les spectacles Notte (2010), Vibrations (2011), Wade in the Water (2016) et les installations magiques, Stormy Weather (2013).


Visuel : Cie 14:20, Æon © Clement Debailleul

Cie 14:20
La compagnie 14:20 est associée au CENTQUATRE-PARIS.
Conception et écriture : AragoRn Boulanger, Clément Debailleul, Elsa Revol
Mise en scène : Clément Debailleul
Chorégraphie : AragoRn Boulanger
Lumière : Elsa Revol
Scénographie : Benjamin Gabrié
Textes : Christophe Galfard, Michel Siffre, Virginie Van Wassenhove
Voix : Marco Bataille -Testu
Collaboration scientifique : Christophe Galfard, Alice Guyon, Virginie Van Wassenhove
Avec : AragoRn Boulanger et Armelle Bérengier
Régie générale : Mickaël Marchadier
Régie plateau : Marco Bataille-Testu
Administration, production, diffusion : La Magnanerie

Production : Cie 14:20

Coproduction : Le Rive Gauche dans le cadre de SPRING, festival des nouvelles formes de cirque
en Normandie, proposé par la Plateforme 2 Pôles Cirque en Normandie / La Brèche à Cherbourg
– Cirque-Théâtre d’Elbeuf, Théâtre de Caen, Théâtre de L’Estran de Guidel, Centre des arts d’Enghien-
les- Bains, Scène conventionnée “écritures numériques”, Biennale des arts numériques
Némo, La Scène de recherche de l’ENS Paris- Saclay et La Diagonale Paris-Saclay.

Avec le soutien de : Ministère de la Culture-DGCA. La Cie 14:20 est soutenue par la Ville de
Rouen et la Région Normandie.