• Performing Arts

Decision Making

The Decisive Instant

  • Exhibition

Thursday 9 December 2021 at 18h

  • Centre Culturel Canadien - Paris
    130 Rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré
    75008 Paris
Opening on Thursday 9 December at 6 pm.

Exhibition from Friday 10 December to Friday 15 April 2022.
Monday to Friday from 10 am to 5:30 pm.
Free registration

The exhibition ‘The Decisive Instant’, which opens during an intense week with Biennale Némo’s foreign cultural partners in Paris, approaches the domains which (still) separate humans from machines—decision-making processes through the prism of art. It’s not always good to let go…

Decisions are the result of complex cognitive processes; when they affect our common future, considering them collectively is absolutely crucial. Yet we are increasingly incorporating machines into these processes, in the form of decision-making algorithms.

This, of course, raises questions that artists know how to put into perspective. Because the era in which we are living—a mere instant in relation to the long history of our planet—is a decisive fork in the road for the responsible development of artificial intelligence. Issues such as managing what emerges from our personal data are a matter of human rights.

These artworks, which reveal decision-making processes hidden from view, transport us to an immediate future that still belongs to us. Produced by Centre Culturel Canadien, the exhibition brings together fifteen artists from Canada, Estonia, France, Germany, Norway and Spain.


Curators : Dominique Moulon and Alain Thibault
Associate curator : Catherine Bédard

Image: Johan Baron Lanteigne, tangible data 3, 2020  

Further information: canada-culture.org

• Arts Vivants

Decision Making

L’instant décisif

  • Exposition

Jeudi 9 décembre 2021 à 18h

  • Centre Culturel Canadien - Paris
    130 Rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré
    75008 Paris
Vernissage jeudi 9 décembre à 18h00

Exposition du vendredi 10 décembre 2021 au vendredi 15 avril 2022.
Ouverture du lundi au vendredi de 10h à 17h30
Gratuit sur réservation

Au cœur même d’une semaine intense avec les partenaires culturels étrangers de la Biennale Némo à Paris, cette exposition observe par le prisme de l’art un des domaines qui séparent (encore) l’humain de la machine, à savoir les processus de décision. Il n’est pas toujours bon de lâcher prise…

Les décisions sont issues de processus cognitifs complexes. Les envisager collectivement, quand elles engagent nos devenirs partagés, les rend rien moins que cruciales. Mais voilà que, de plus en plus, nous intégrons les machines dans de tels processus au travers d’algorithmes qualifiés de décisionnels.

Ce qui n’est pas sans soulever des questions que les artistes savent mettre en perspective. Car l’époque que nous vivons, un simple instant au regard de la longue histoire de notre planète, est décisive considérant les choix qui s’offrent à nous pour un développement responsable de l’intelligence artificielle. C’est donc maintenant que se jouent les droits humains quant à la gestion, par exemple, de ce qui émergera de nos données à toutes et tous.

La prise en compte d’œuvres issues de processus décisionnels extirpés de l’invisible ne peut que nous projeter dans un futur immédiat qui nous appartient encore.  Produite par le Centre culturel canadien, l’exposition réunit quinze artistes venant d’Allemagne, du Canada, d’Estonie, de France, d’Espagne et de Norvège.


Commissaires :  Dominique Moulon et Alain Thibault
Commissaire associée : Catherine Bédard

Visuel : Johan Baron Lanteigne, tangible data 3, 2020  

Plus d’informations : canada-culture.org