Today's event

  • Visual Arts

Denise Bertschi : Oasis of Peace. Only Neutral to the Outside

Oasis of Peace. Only Neutral to the Outside.

  • Exhibition
  • Lecture

From Thursday 21 October to Saturday 13 November 2021

  • Centre Culturel Suisse - Paris
    38 Rue des Francs Bourgeois
    75003 Paris
Thursday 21 October at 6 pm
Conversation between Denise Bertschi and Cambridge University anthropology professor Heonik Kwon, who offers a new perspective on the Cold War—as “hot” rather than “cold”—and applies a post-colonial lens to the global conflict.

Saturday 13 November at 6 pm
Discussion between Bertschi and Doris Gassert, Research Curator at Fotomuseum Winterhur, on soldiers’ prolific amateur photography and the use of found footage and archival materials in art.
Free registration

Denise Bertschi seeks out fractured appearances, offbeat portrayals of reality, and gaps in historiography. Her work aims to uncover the links between Switzerland and global geopolitics by retracing Switzerland’s colonial past and shady financial relationships.

In so doing, she raises questions about the country’s national imagination and neutrality.


Bertschi uses the tools of the historian, anthropologist and investigative journalist to create installations and videos that pair archival documents with personal photos, the remarks of people she meets, and her own research background.

Oasis of Peace. Only Neutral to the Outside uncovers an unexpected link between Switzerland and two major geopolitical regions: the demilitarised zone between North and South Korea, and South Africa. In both cases, Switzerland adeptly plays the neutrality card to its own advantage—neutrality that historian Hans-Ulrich Jost has termed “self-serving” and “dualistic”.

Image: Denise Bertschi, STATE FICTION, still, 2021 © Bibliothek am Guisanplatz, BernSwitzerland

• Arts Visuels

Denise Bertschi

Oasis of Peace. Only Neutral to the Outside.

  • Exposition
  • Rencontre

Du jeudi 21 octobre au samedi 13 novembre 2021

  • Centre Culturel Suisse - Paris
    38 Rue des Francs Bourgeois
    75003 Paris
Jeudi 21 octobre à 18h
Rencontre Denise Bertschi et Heonik Kwon
Entrée libre dans la limite des places disponibles. Ouverture de la billetterie à l'accueil du CCS le jour même dès 13:00.

Samedi 13 novembre à 18h
Rencontre entre Denise Bertschi et Doris Gassert
Gratuit sur réservation

Denise Bertschi s’intéresse aux apparences fissurées, aux représentations décalées de la réalité et aux lacunes de l’historiographie. Son travail cherche à rendre visibles les liens entre la Suisse et la géopolitique mondiale.

Ce faisant, elle retrace les implications coloniales suisses et les relations financières douteuses, elle questionne les récits de l’imaginaire national comme celui de la neutralité.


Jeudi 21 octobre à 18h

Rencontre Denise Bertschi et Heonik Kwon (professeur en anthropologie à la Cambridge University) qui propose un nouveau regard sur la guerre coréenne, non pas « froide » mais « chaude » – et qui applique une lecture post-coloniale de ce conflit global.
Entrée libre dans la limite des places disponibles.

Samedi 13 novembre à 18h

Rencontre entre Denise Bertschi et Doris Gassert (Research Curator au Fotomuseum Winterthur) autour de la production prolifique d’images par des amateurs militaires et l’utilisation artistique de found footage et de matériel d’archives.


Avec les outils de l’historienne, de l’anthropologue ou de la journaliste d’investigation, Bertschi crée des installations et des vidéos dans lesquelles s’entremêlent des documents d’archives et des images personnelles, les paroles de personnes rencontrées et son propre parcours de recherche.

L’exposition Oasis of Peace. Only Neutral to the Outside établit un lien insoupçonné entre la Suisse et deux régions géopolitiques majeures : le territoire démilitarisé entre Corée du Nord et du Sud d’une part, et l’Afrique du Sud d’autre part. Dans les deux cas, la Suisse a su agilement jouer la carte de la neutralité à des fins propres – une neutralité que l’historien Hans-Ulrich Jost qualifie d’« intéressée » et « dualiste ».

Visuel : Denise Bertschi, STATE FICTION, still, 2021 © Bibliothek am Guisanplatz, BernSwitzerland