• Arts and Sciences

Les Disputes d’AgroParisTech #2

Invisible animal

  • Lecture

Tuesday 9 November 2021 from 18h to 20h

  • École Normale Supérieure Paris-Saclay
    4 Avenue des Sciences
    Gif-sur-Yvette 91

Les Disputes d’AgroParisTech is a debate series open to the general public, which addresses issues related to living things and the environment.

The first hour is a roundtable during which scientists, artists, politicians and engaged citizens share their perspectives. The second hour is reserved for questions and reactions from the audience, to stimulate discussion between all the participants.


New technologies such as synthetic meat and plant-based meat substitutes are presented as solutions to several major challenges, namely the considerable greenhouse gas emissions generated by livestock farming and the issue of animal welfare.

The French FoodTech industry is determined to play a central role in shaping our eating habits. But is the problem the meat or the factory?

INRAE sociologist Jocelyne Porcher has worked on the hardships of employees at large livestock farms and slaughterhouses, behind closed doors. She defends the view that we need to establish a new ‘contract’ governing our relationship with animals.

Gilles Trystram, a food researcher at AgroParisTech who has served as the school’s general director for the past decade, has witnessed our relationship with meat and the food industry gradually gain prominence in public discourse.


Image: Donatien Aubert, Les jardins cybernetiques, Still du film © Donatien Aubert

• Arts et Sciences

Les Disputes d’AgroParisTech #2

Invisible animal

  • Rencontre

Mardi 9 novembre 2021 de 18h à 20h

  • École Normale Supérieure Paris-Saclay
    4 Avenue des Sciences
    Gif-sur-Yvette 91

Les Disputes d’AgroParisTech sont des débats ouverts au grand public. On y aborde des questions qui touchent au vivant et à l’environnement.

La première heure est une table ronde où scientifiques, artistes, politiques, citoyens engagés exposent leur point de vue. La seconde heure est consacrée aux questions et réactions du public, afin que s’ouvre une discussion entre tous les participants.


Viande de synthèse, substituts végétaux à la viande… De nouvelles technologies se présentent comme des solutions à plusieurs grands enjeux : l’élevage comme émetteur majeur de gaz à effet de serre, et la question du bien-être animal.

La « French FoodTech » entend bien s’imposer comme un acteur incontournable de nos nouvelles habitudes alimentaires. Mais le problème, est-ce la viande, ou l’usine ?

Sociologue à INRAE, Jocelyne Porcher à travaillé sur la souffrance des employés dans les grands élevages et abattoirs industriels – cachés de tous les regards. Elle défend la vision d’un nouveau contrat à construire dans notre relation à l’animal.

Chercheur en alimentation et à la tête d’AgroParisTech depuis dix ans, Gilles Trystram, quant à lui, a vu la question de notre rapport à la viande et à l’industrie alimentaire s’imposer peu à peu dans le débat public.


Visuel : Donatien Aubert, Les jardins cybernetiques, Still du film © Donatien Aubert